Support for 'Corrupt' Jagan: MPs, MLAs to resign on Aug 22

Subscribe to Oneindia News

YS Jagan Mohan Reddy
Hyderabad, Aug 21: Following the CBI raids and criminal charges against Jagan Mohan Reddy, 2 MPs and 22 MLAs on Sunday, Aug 21 decided to resign from their post on Monday.

The latest decision of Jagan's supporter MLAs and MPs might be proved as a major setback for the Congress and the present Chief Minister of the state, Kiran Kumar Reddy.

Earlier, Jagan's supporters had asserted that they will table their resignations protesting against the CBI registering cases against Jagan and MLAs Mr Adinarayana Reddy and Ms Konda Surekha.

The CBI in its FIR stated that the Congress MP along with his father, the then CM of Andhra Pradesh - late YS Rajashekhara Reddy (YSR), had conspired to cheat the state government.

Jagan has been accused of influencing YSR and other government officials in order to receive special favours from the government in allocating licences for ports, SEZs in return of huge sums of money during 2004-2009.

Several charges such as criminal conspiracy, cheating, criminal breach of trust, falsification of accounts and criminal misconduct have been brought out against Jagan in CBI's FIR.

The CBI FIR stated, "As a quid pro quo, those companies, other unknown companies and unknown persons invested several crores of rupees in Jagati Publications, Sandur Power Company Limited, Carmel Asia Holdings, Bharathi Cement Corporation Ltd and other companies promoted by Jaganmohan Reddy at a huge premium."

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...