Anna Hazare crackdown rocks Orissa assembly

Written by: Pti
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Orissa map
Bhubaneswar, Aug 17: Protest against crackdown on Anna Hazare and his aides had its echo in Orissa assembly which was adjourned twice amid uproar as BJP and ruling BJD MLAs condemned the action and sought a strong Jan Lokpal.

As the question hour began on the opening day of the monsoon session, BJP legislature party leader K V Singhdeo and party members were on their feet dubbing the Congress-led UPA government at the centre as "murderer of democracy."

Shouting anti-UPA government slogans, BJP legislators stormed into the well of the House demanding tabling of a strong Jan Lokpal Bill in Parliament. The slogans rocked the house almost throughout the question hour.

BJP backed Independent MLA Pratap Sarangi, who also joined the protest, said outside the House that a discussion should be held in the assembly and a censure motion adopted against the action on Hazare and his supporters.

When the question hour was about to end, Congress members shouted against NHPC's Sindol proejct saying it would affect people in three districts in western Orissa. The House was adjourned for 15 minutes amidst uproar.

When the House reassembled, ruling BJD MLAs started sloganeering against the Centre over the Hazare episode, leading to adjournment of the house till 3 pm. 

Outside the Assembly, rallies, demonstrations and dharnas were held in several areas of the state with protesters burning effigies of Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and Union Home Minister P Chidambaram in some places.

In the state capital, demonstrations were staged under the banner of various outfits including India Against Corruption.

Lawyers of Orissa High Court in Cuttack also joined the protest wearing black badges and terming the action on Hazare as an assault on democracy and human rights.

Students of SCB Medical College at Cuttack also expressed solidarity with the anti-graft movement by Hazare. Reports of protest were received from several places including Balangir, Sambalpur, Berhampur, Rourkela, Barbil, Keonjhar and Gunupur.


Please Wait while comments are loading...