55 rebel MLAs to boycott new K'taka CM Gowda's swearing-in?

Subscribe to Oneindia News
Sadananda Gowda
Bangalore, Aug 4: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has already elected Sadananda Gowda as the new Karnataka Chief Minister. But political turmoil in the state seems not to be solved soon as many MLAs may boycott Gowda's swearing-in ceremony on Thursday, Aug 4.

Gowda won the vote leaving his strong competitor Jagadish Shettar behind. 55 MLAs, who supported Shettar, reportedly would not attain the oath taking ceremony of the new CM. [Read: Who is Sadananda Gowda?]

Shettar called a breakfast meeting at his residence in Bangalore. All 55 MLAs are expected to attend the meeting with Shettar. Gowda was strongly backed by the former CM BS Yeddyurappa.

After his defeat at Gowda's hand, Shettar accused Yeddyurappa of threatening his (Shettar's) supporters. Shettar said, "Gulbarga MLA Eshanna Gulagannanavar, despite being unwell, made it to the BJP LP on a wheelchair. After the polling, Yeddyurappa told him he knew whom he voted for and that he knows how to deal with him. This has really hurt me."

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...