New CM spat: Yeddyurappa quits; K'taka remains headless

Subscribe to Oneindia News
BS Yeddyurappa
Bangalore, Aug 1: The six time MLA from Shikaripura, BS Yeddyurappa on Sunday, Jul 31 stepped down from his post as Karnataka Chief Minister but the confusion over his successor remains to haunt the BJP leaders.

The meeting between BJP top brass Rajnath Singh and Arun Jaitley with Yeddyurappa and other state party leaders failed to bring up any solution to the spat. BJP high command refused to elect Yeddyurappa's "choice" - Sadananda Gowda as the new CM.

"Opinion of each legislator has been taken and considered. We will collectively decide a new leader," said former Cabinet Minister SA Ramdas.

Yeddyurappa's proposal has created a ruckus in the state as other promising candidates for the CM post - state unit President K S Eshwarappa, party national General Secretary H N Ananth Kumar along with Jagadish Shettar and R Ashoka opposed Gowda to be the new chief of the state.

Citing the ruckus in the state, it seems that only the six pack solution for the BJP can solve the Karnataka drama ahead of the crucial Monsoon session in the Parliament.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...