TMC-Congress alliance wins in two municipalities

Written by: Pti
Subscribe to Oneindia News
West Bengal map
Kolkata, July 13: Close on the heels of the massive victory in the West Bengal assembly elections, the Trinamool Congress and Congress alliance maintained their winning streak with victories in two muncipalities, the results of which were announced on Tuesday, Jul 12.

The alliance won the polls in Raiganj municipality in North Dinajpur district and the Pujali civic body in South 24 Parganas district defeating the Left Front.

Both the muncipalities were under the control of the Congress, but this time both Congress and Trinamool Congress fought the elections to teh two municipalities together.

Polling was held on July ten. At Raiganj, the Congress romped to victory winning in 17 of the 25 wards and Trinamool Congress which contested in eight won in five.

Left Front major CPI(M) managed to win in one ward and independent nominees won in two. Of the 15 wards that went to the polls in Pujali, the Congress got 7 and the Trinamool Congress 4. Independent candidates won in three wards while the CPI(M) bagged one.


Please Wait while comments are loading...