Karnataka by-polls: BSY's party BJP sweeps all the seats

Subscribe to Oneindia News
Bangalore, May 13: Karnataka's ruling Bharatiya Janata Party has swept all the three assembly seats on Friday, May 13, where by-polls were held on April 9.

The BJP candidate in Channapatna, in Ramanagaram district, CP Yogeshwar won with a whopping margin of 10,000 votes. Another candidate M Narayanaswamy in Bangarpet beat his opponents by 4050 votes. Jagalur, reserved for Scheduled Tribes (ST), in Davangere district, candidate SV Ramachandra won with a margin of 7700 votes.

The resounding victory of BJP in all the three constituencies comes as a major setback for opposition parties, especially the JD(S). Congress has been literally ineffective and non-existent in Karnataka, BS Yeddyurappa's party has prevailed the by-polls.

Post the Karnataka by-polls, the assembly pie is as follows:

BJP: 105 +3
Cong: 71
JDS: 26
Independent: 01
Speaker: 01
Nominated: 01
Vacant: 17

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...