Election to AP Legislative Council tomorrow

Written by: Pti
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Andhra Pradesh map
Hyderabad, March 16: Elections for ten seats to Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council will be held tomorrow, the state chief electoral officer said today.

"The secretary to state legislature is the Returning Officer for the election and he has made all arrangements for the poll tomorrow", the state Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Bhanwar Lal told PTI.

There are 12 candidates in the fray as the TRS has fielded a candidate though it did not have the requisite strength to see him through. CPI has also fielded a candidate with the backing of TDP.

"The polling will be held from 9 am to 4 pm and counting would start at 5 pm. It should not take more than 2-3 hours for the counting to be completed," the CEO said.

The ruling Congress has fielded five candidates of its own and is supporting one nominee each from Praja Rajyam Party (PRP) and Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM). TDP has fielded three candidates for the polls.

Meanwhile, the authorities have announced the results for the elections held for three seats each of the teachers' constituencies and graduates' constituencies.

In the teachers'' constituencies, Vitapu Balasubramanyam has won from Prakasam-Nellore-Chittoor while K Janardhan Reddy has emerged victorious in Mahabubnagar-Rangareddy-Hyderabad while Bachala Pullaiah is the winner in Kadapa-Anantapur-Kurnool constituency.

In the graduates' constituencies, MVS Sarma won from Srikakulam-Vizianagaram-Visakhapatnam while Y Srinivasulu Reddy and M Geyanand won respectively from Prakasam-Nellore-Chittoor and Kadapa-Anantapur-Kurnool.


Please Wait while comments are loading...