Bell survives close shout, decision criticised by experts

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Feb 27 (PTI) The crucial group B World Cupmatch between India and England here today witnessed acontroversial moment when Ian Bell was ruled not out byon-field umpire Billy Bowden to a delivery, which TV replaysclearly showed, was hitting the stumps.

Bowling the final ball of the 25th over, Yuvraj Singh''sdelivery struck Bell on the pads and the ball-tracking systemsuggested it was going to hit middle and off. The batsman,shaping up for a sweep, was almost on his way back afterwatching replays on the giant screen, but Bowden was notconvinced.

India called for the decision review but third umpire RodTucker somehow went with Bowden''s decision as there was morethan 2.5m between impact and the stumps.

The controversial decision was roundly criticised bycommentators Nasser Hussain and Sourav Ganguly. The formerEngland skipper said that irrespective of whether the distancewas 2.5 or 3 metre the decision was wrong, and Ganguly noddedin complete agreement.

"I don''t care whether it is 2.5 or 3.5 or 4.5, the ballwas clearly going to hit the middle stump and he should havebeen given out," Hussain said.

Fellow commentator Ganguly said, "I do agree with youNasser, I think Bell is very lucky to have survived.

Please Wait while comments are loading...