New trains to honour Rabindranath Tagore, Swami Vivekananda

Written by: Ani
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Feb 25 (ANI): To commemorate the 150th birth anniversary of Guru Rabindranath Tagore, Railway Minister Mamata Banerjee today announced the introduction of Kavi Guru Express Trains to pay homage to the great poet.

Presenting the Railway Budget for 2011-12, Banerjee said that Kavi Guru Express Trains will run on the following routes:

Howrah-Azimganj Express (daily) via Sagardighi

Guwahati-Jaipur Express (weekly) via Kasganj-Faizabad-Gorakhpur-Kokrajhar

Howrah-Bolpur Express (daily)

Howrah-Porbander Express (weekly) Banerjee also announced that the new trains called "Vivek Express," would be introduced to mark the 150th birth anniversary of Swami Vivekananda, which will be celebrated in 2013.

The first four such trains will be introduced on the following routes:Dibrugarh-Thiruvananthapuram-Kanniyakumari Express (weekly) via Kokrajhar

Dwarka-Tuticorin Express (weekly) via Wadi

Howrah-Mangalore Express (weekly) via Palghat

Bandra(T)-Jammu Tawi Express (weekly) via Marwar-Degana-Ratangarh-Jakhal-Ludhiana (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...