Seven candidates in fray for Kharswan bypoll

Written by: Pti
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kharswan(Jharkhand), Jan 27 (PTI) Seven candidates wereleft in the fray as two candidates withdrew their nominationon the last day of withdrawal today for Kharswan assembly seatfrom where Jharkhand chief minister Arjun Munda is seekingelection to continue in the post of chief minister.

Besides National Jharkhandi Alliance leader Surya SinghBesra, an independent candidate Sikandar Jamuda also withdrewhis nomination, C K Singh, sub-divisional officer-cumreturning officer of Saraikela-Kharswan said.

The Kharswan by-election scheduled on Febryary 10 wasnecessitated after the sitting MLA Mangal Singh Soy resignedto pave way for Arjun Munda.

Munda had represented Kharswan thrice since 1995 till hewas elected to the Lok Sabha from Jamshedpur parliamentaryseat in the last general election.

Please Wait while comments are loading...