''Dabbang'' bags top honours at Apsara Awards

Written by: Pti
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, Jan 16 (PTI) Salman Khan starrer ''Dabangg'', thehighest grosser in 2010, stole the show by sweeping eightawards at this year''s Apsara Awards, including the Best Film,Best Actor and Best Music trophies.

Salman earned his first set of ''Best Actor'' awards in anover two-decade career at the Chevrolet Apsara Awards 2011here, his second in a week after bagging the same honour atthe Star Screen Awards last week.

Though the 45-year-old actor was nominated in the ''BestActor'' category for several films like ''Karan Arjun'', ''Hum DilDe Chuke Sanam'' and ''Tere Naam'', the only award he has won isthe ''Best Actor in a Supporting role'' for ''Kuch Kuch HotaHai''.

The film''s female lead Sonakshi Sinha took home the BestDebut - Female trophy. ''Dabangg'' also won the Best Dialogueaward, the Best Performance in Negative Role went to Sonu Soodand singer Rahat Fateh Ali Khan won the Best Male Singertrophy for the song ''Tere Mast Mast Do Nain''.

"Its absolutely wonderful to be walking home with so manyawards. Above all, I am very happy for Salman. After about 20years in the industry this is the first movie that is brininghim the awards for Best Actor," ''Dabbang'' producer Arbaaz Khansaid.

The Best actress award was shared by Vidya Balan for''Ishqiya'' and Anushka Sharma for her role in ''Band BaajaBaraat''.

Karan Johar won the Best Director award for ''My Name isKhan''. Anusha Rizvi took home the Best Story award for ''PeepliLive'', while the Best Lyrics tropy went to Gulzar for the song''Dil to bachcha hai ji'' from ''Ishqiya''.

Farah Khan won the Best Choreography award for the hitnumber ''Sheila ki jawani'' from her directorial ''Tees MaarKhan'' at last night''s star-studded ceremony. (More) PTI KKPVKV

Newcomer Ranveer Singh won the Best Debut - Male trophy for ''Band Bajaa Baraat'', while Maneesh Sharma took home theBest Debut - Director award for the same film.

Mamta Sharma and Sunidhi Chauhan shared the Best FemaleSinger award for their respective item songs ''Munni badnam''and ''Sheila ki jawani''.

Arjun Rampal''s role in ''Raajneeti'' got him the BestActor in a Supporting Role-Male award, while Prachi Desai wonthe trophy in the Female category for her turn in ''Once Upon aTime in Mumbai''.

Megastar Amitabh Bachchan and actress Vidya Balan werehanded special honours for their roles in ''Paa'', so wasRajkumar Hirani for directing ''3 Idiots''.

Best Performance in a Comic Role went to Paresh Rawal for''Atithi Tum Kab Jaoge?''

Veteran actor Dharmendra, who recently completed hisgolden jubilee in Bollywood, was honoured with the LifetimeAchievement Award.

Hrithik Roshan and Aishwarya Rai were presented with thePresident Honour, a specially created category of awards, fortheir performance in Sanjay Leela Bhansali''s ''Guzaarish''.

"I would like to thank Bhansali for giving me good movieslike ''Hum Dil De Chuke Sanam'' and ''Devdas'' which have broughtme to where I am," Rai said accepting the award.

Spirits were high as the audience cheered at PriyankaChopra''s performance on a medley of songs featuring MadhuriDikshit, while Govinda''s tribute to Dharmendra was also wellreceived. Actor Shahrukh Khan also performed at the function.

However, the highlight of the evening was Katrina''sperforming to her hit number ''Sheila Ki Jawaani.

Please Wait while comments are loading...