Bihar polls: 2nd phase begins amid tight security

Written by: Mamatha
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Bihar map
Patna, Oct 24: A day after a massive blast by Maoists in Bihar's Sheohar district, the second phase of Bihar Assembly polls started on Sunday, Oct 24 morning, amid tight security.

Before the voting began on Oct 24 in Bihar's Sitamarhi district Maoists raided a polling centre and burnt Electronic Voting Machines.

After the massive blast by Maoists on Oct 22 in Bihar's Sheohar district, the Election Commission (EC)changed the timings of the second phase voting in some constituencies.

In the some of the Naxal-hit constituencies like Sheohar, Belsand, Minapur, Paroo and Sahebgunj voting will take place between 7:00 am and 3:00 pm.

The fate of some of the top leaders like Abdul Bari Siddiqui from Alinagar, Vijay Kumar Choudhary from Sarairanjan, Ramnath Thakur from Samastipur, Shahid Ali Khan from Sursand, former minister Ramchandra Purve from Parihar, former union minister M A A Fatmi's son Fraz Fatmi from Kevati, will be contesting in the second phases of the Bihar polls.

JD(U) is contesting for 28 seats and its ally BJP 17. Where as Congress and the BSP are contesting all seats.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...