Pak Election Commission suspends membership of 148 parliamentarians

Written by: Nairita Das
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Lahore, Oct 19 (ANI): The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has suspended the memberships of 148 parliamentarians, as they failed to submit details of their assets, a TV channel has said.

According to its report, the ECP suspended the memberships of 35 members of the National Assembly, 71 of the Punjab Assembly, 16 of the Sindh Assembly, 10 of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly and 12 of the Balochistan Assembly, the Daily Times reported.

It has also suspended the memberships of four Senate members, the report said.

The ECP has also issued a notification, stating that the memberships of these lawmakers would not be restored until they submitted their assets details.

The suspended members included Fazlur Rehman, Amir Muqam, Attaur Rehman, Noor Alam, Sardar Aseff Ahmed Ali, Syed Khursheed Ahmed, Kashmala Tariq and others, it added. (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...