Yeddyurappa Govt. in Karnataka survives 'Trust Vote'

Written by: Nairita Das
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Oct 11 (ANI): B S Yeddyurappa-led Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Government in Karnataka survived the 'Trust Vote' on Monday.

There was chaos in the Karnataka Assembly earlier today, as eleven BJP and five Independent MLAs, who were earlier disqualified by Speaker K G Bopaiah under the anti-defection law, were restricted from entering the Assembly.

The dissident MLAs broke windowpanes of the Assembly and assaulted marshals to barge into the building.

Speaker Bopaiah had earlier on October 7 served show-cause notices to the dissident MLAs seeking a reason as to why they should not be disqualified under the anti-defection law after they announced their dcision to withdraw support to Yeddyurappa Government.

In his order, Bopaiah said these MLAs have been disqualified under the provision of the anti-defection law as envisaged in the Tenth Schedule of the Constitution.

Those BJP MLAs, who were disqualified are: Balachandra Jarkiholi, Belur Gopala Krishna, Anand Asnotikar, Dr Sarvabowma Bagali, V Nagaraju, Raje Kage, Y Sampangi, Nanjundaswamy, S K Bellubbi, H S Shankara Lingegowda and Shivanagouda Naik.

Former ministers Venkataramanappa, Shivaraj Tangadagi, Goolihatti Sekhar and M P Narendraswamy and independent MLAs were also disqualified.

The disqualification of the MLAs had brought down the strength of the 224-member Assembly to 208. (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...