K'taka-BJP crisis: Speaker disqualifies rebel MLAs

Written by: Samyuktha
Subscribe to Oneindia News
BS Yeddyurappa
Bangalore, Oct 11: In the latest twist to the Karnataka-BJP government crisis, speaker K G Bopaiah has reportedly disqualified 11 BJP dissident MLAs and five independents.

The reports of the 16 rebel MLAs' disqualification comes hours ahead of the trust vote scheduled to be held on Monday, Oct 11.

The Karnataka Assembly Speaker K G Bopaiah had earlier issued show cause notices to the dissidents under the anti-defection law based on a complaint lodged by Chief Minister BS Yeddyurappa

Terming the notice illegal, unconstitutional, motivated and devoid of jurisdiction, the rebels had sought 7 days time to reply to it.

Bopaiah on Sunday, Oct 11 also had a bitter battle with the Governor HR Bharadwaj over the notices. Mr Bharadwaj had asked the Speaker not to disqualify any MLA before the floor test on Monday, Oct 11.

Party position in Karnataka Assembly

Total Members - 224

Party                        Members                      After Disqualification
BJP                              117                                    106
Janata Dal(S)                 28                                     28
Congress                       72                                     72
Independents                  6                                      1

If the trust vote is held as scheduled on Monday, Oct 1, then Chief Minister BS Yeddyurappa is likely to win with majority of 106 while Congress and JD(S) combine will add up to 100.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...