Disqualified rebel MLAs barge into K'taka Assembly

Written by: Samyuktha
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Karnataka Assembly
Bangalore, Oct 11: Restricted from entering the Karnataka State Assembly, the 16 disqualified rebel MLAs created a ruckus outside the Vidhana Soudha on Monday, Oct 11.

11 BJP MLAs and 5 Independent MLAs, who were earlier disqualified by the speaker K G Bopaiah under the anti-defection law, forced themselves into the Assembly.

Shameful scenes were seen at the Assembly as the dissidents broke window panes and assaulted marshals to barge into the building.

The rebels were on Oct 7 served with show-cause notices by the speaker seeking a reason as to why they should not be disqualified under the anti-defection law after they announced that they wanted to withdraw support to the BS Yeddyurappa government.

Hours ahead of the trust vote scheduled to be held on Monday, Oct 11 the speaker went ahead and disqualified the dissidents giving an advantage to the Yeddyurappa government, despite directions from Governor HR Bharadwaj not to do so before the floor test.

The rebels are now alleging that the speaker is biased.

Party position in Karnataka Assembly

Total Members - 224

Party                            Members                                After Disqualification
BJP                                     117                                               106
Janata Dal(S)                      28                                                 28
Congress                            72                                                 72
Independents                      6                                                   1

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...