Bihar BJP President resigns ahead of Assembly polls

Written by: Abdul Nisar
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Patna, Oct 8 (ANI): In a huge setback to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Bihar BJP President C P Thakur tendered his resignation on Friday, as he was upset with a party decision to allocate Digha seat to the Janata Dal-United (JD-U).

"I have resigned from the post of the state BJP president. I have sent my resignation to party president Nitin Gadkari this morning," said Thakur.

C P Thakur reportedly wanted to field his son Vivek from the Digha seat on a BJP ticket.

The six-phase poll for 243 seats in Bihar begins from October 21 and concludes on November 20.

The first phase of elections will take place on October 21 for 47 state assembly seats, the second phase on October 24, the third phase on October 28 for 48 seats, the fourth on November1 for 42 seats, the fifth phase on November 9 for 25 seats and the sixth and last phase on November 20 for 26 seats.

Candidates can withdraw their nomination papers till October 18.

Counting of votes will take place on November 24.

Bihar has over 5.5 crore voters, who will exercise their franchise through Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs). (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...