CPI-M top brass meets to finalise Bihar poll strategy

Written by: Nairita Das
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Oct 4 (ANI): The Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) top brass will meet here on Monday to give final touches to its poll strategy in Bihar and discuss preparations for the assembly elections in West Bengal and Kerala, which would be held next year.

The verdict pronounced by the Lucknow Bench of the Allahabad High Court on September 30 in the Ram Janambhoomi-Babri Masjid title suit and the recent unrest in the Kashmir Valley are also expected to be discussed at a two-day meet of the CPI -M politburo members beginning today.

There are reports that preparations in the run-up to the Assembly elections in the Left bastions of West Bengal and Kerala would also be taken up during the two-day meet, which is likely to be attended by West Bengal Chief Minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharya and Tripura Chief Minister Manik Sarkar.

It has been reported that while the party has recently concluded that a 'third alternative' or a common platform on policies and programmes would take time, it has finalised a seat-sharing pact with Left parties, CPI and CPI-ML (Liberation), for the Bihar assembly polls.

The three parties have jointly decided to contest at least 130 of 243 seats against the ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDA), Rashtriya Janata Dal-Lok Janashakti Party (RJD-LJP) combine and the Congress, with the CPI-M fighting in 20 seats, CPI in 32 and CPI-ML (Liberation) in 78 seats.

The CPI-M had at its recent extended 'Central Committee' meet in Hyderabad decided to project a Left and democratic alternative and strengthen Left unity through united actions.

The six-phased State Assembly polls for 243 seats in Bihar begins from October 21 and concludes on November 20.

The first phase of elections will take place on October 21 for 47 state assembly seats, the second phase on October 24, the third phase on October 28 for 48 seats, the fourth on November1 for 42 seats, the fifth phase on November 9 for 25 seats and the sixth and last phase on November 20 for 26 seats.

Counting of votes will take place on November 24.

Bihar has over 5.5 crore voters, who will exercise their franchise through Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs). (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...