Ten get seven-year jail term in Bhagalpur riots case

Written by: Nitsi
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bhagalpur, Sep 2 (ANI): A Bihar court has sentenced ten persons to rigorous imprisonment for seven years for attacking a police party during the Bhagalpur riots of 1989.

Second Additional District and Sessions Judge Anil Kumar also slapped a fine of Rs 2,000 on each of accused.

The police party, led by the then officer-in-charge of Sultanganj police station, Prem Ranjan Sharma, was attacked on November 14, 1989 when they went to the Kamarganj locality in Bhagalpur to inquire about the reported killing of five people by a riotous mob.

The convicts include Siyaram Yadav, Jaijai Yadav, Mahendra Yadav, Arun Mandal, Tarkeshwar Yadav, Khelo Yadav, Mugal Yadav, Harikishore Yadav, Rajgir Yadav and Ramjanam Yadav.

Over 1,000 people, most of them Muslims, were killed in Bhagalpur District during the month-long rioting. (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...