Telangana by-polls: TRS sweeps 11 seats

Written by: Abdul Nisar
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Hyderabad, Jul 30: Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) won 11 seats and Bharaitya Janata Party (BJP) got one seat in Telangana by-elections.

The result which shows the defeat of the ruling Congress party and the main opposition Telugu Desam Party (TDP) has triggered rumblings within the two parties over the Telangana statehood issue.

Both Congress and TDP drew a blank in the by-elections to 12 assembly seats caused by the resignations over the Telangana issue.

TDP lost the lone seat it was holding while Congress candidates, including party's state unit chief D Srinivas had to bite the dust.

Congress party general secretary and state incharge M Veerappa Moily told that Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) won due to 'local factors'.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...