Amendment in OBC Central List approved by Cabinet

Written by: Abdul Nisar
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, July 22 (ANI): The Union Cabinet on Thursday accorded approval for inclusion and amendment of the names of the castes and communities in the Central Lists of Other Backward Classes (OBCs) in respect of Chhattisgarh, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Rajasthan and the Union Territory of Daman and Diu.

This is based on the recommendation of the National Commission for Backward Classes.

The Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment will notify for the first time the Central list of OBCs in respect of Chhattisgarh and Jharkhand, and also make amendments in the Central Lists of OBCs in respect of four States (Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka and Rajasthan) and one UT (Daman and Diu).

Inclusion of these communities in the Central list of OBCs will enable them to avail the benefits of reservation in Central Government services and posts as well as in Central education institutions, thus contributing to the goal of equity and inclusiveness. (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...