3151 tourist visas issued under 'Visa on Arrival' scheme

Written by: Devaki
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, July 18(ANI): Union Tourism Ministry has said that it has issued 3151 visas under the "Visa on Arrival" (VoA) scheme to attract more foreign tourists to the country.

The government had launched the scheme in January for citizens of five countries - Finland, Japan, Luxembourg, New Zealand and Singapore - visiting India for tourism purposes.

During the period of January to June, the number of visas issued under the scheme were -Singapore (1040), Finland (802), New Zealand (768), Japan (521) and Luxembourg (20).

Total number of VoAs issued in June were 401 with countrywise breakup as Finland (66), Japan (68), New Zealand (108), Singapore (156) and Luxemburg (3).

During the six-month period, the maximum number of VoAs were issued at Indira Gandhi International airport in New Delhi (1663), followed by Chattrapathi Shivaji International airport in Mumbai (689), Chennai International airport (635) and Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose International airport in Kolkata (164).

Earlier, the External Affairs Ministry had said that the scheme would continue for a year on an "experimental basis."

The visas have a maximum validity of 30 days with single entry facility. (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...