Pakistan forms task forces against terror groups

Written by: Devaki
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Islamabad, Jul 6: Pakistany authorities have constituted special task forces to put down the 17 terror outfits, Lashkar-e-Taiba (renamed as Jamaat-ud-Dawa) being one among them. Home department of Punjab, admitting Lashkar-e-Taiba as a terrorist group, set up task forces consisting officials from the CID, special branch and Anti-Terrorism Squad in several districts of the province.

The new move from Pak government came in the wake of the suicide attack on the Data Darbar shrine.

The panel will act against the outfits including JuD, LeT, Jaish-e-Mohammed, Lashkar-e-Jhangvi, Sipah-e-Sahaba, Tehrik-e-Nifaz-e-Shariah Muhammadi, Sipah-e-Muhammad Pakistan, Tehrik-e-Jafriya Pakistan, Millat-e-Islamia Pakistan, Khudamul Islam, Islami Tehrik Pakistan, Hizb-ut-Tehrir, Jamiat-ul-Ansar, Jamait-ul-Furqan, Khair-un-Naas International Trust, Islamic Students Movement and Balochistan Liberation Army.

Nine among the groups belong to the hardline Deobandi sect, three belong to Shia and three follow the ideology of Ahl-e-Hadith. BLA is a Baloch nationalist group and ISM is a radical students' organisation.

Tehrik-e-Taliban Pakistan is not among the list targeted by the task forces. Home department will also observe the Sunni Tehrik group.

The task forces have been instructed to establish close connection with intelligence officers in several districts of the nation in order to track the movements of the terror outfits.

An official of Punjab home department informed media that they received the instructions to launch crackdowns on the hideouts of terror groups and arrest those involved with them immediately.

The officers will also trace those who are financing the groups and their other sources of funding in order to take action against them under the Anti-Terrorist Act. The task forces, who will be led by district police chiefs, will report to the Punjab home department.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...