BJP suspends three MLAs for cross voting

Written by: Devaki
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Jun 18: Nitin Gadkari, BJP President suspended three BJP MLAs from various states for cross voting in the Rajya Sabha polls, 2010.

The suspended MLAs include Banwari Ram from Bihar, Bhimsen Chaudhary from Orissa and Ram Chandra from Jharkhand. They were suspended on Friday, Jun 18 for not casting their vote in favour of the BJP candidate or abstaining in the biennial polls just concluded.

“The party unit in Rajasthan is investigating the matter to find out why the two BJP votes were cancelled or rejected. Once the facts are ascertained action will be taken," informed Nirmala Sitharam, the party spokesperson.

The votes of two party MLAs in Rajasthan were cancelled. Several party MLAs were against the candidature of Ram Jethmalani.

The decision by Gadkari to suspend the MLAs were conveyed to the respective state units by BJP General Secretary Ananth Kumar.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...