BJP to decide new Jharkhand CM on Tuesday

Written by: Super Admin
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, May 10 (ANI): The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)'s Parliamentary Board met here on Monday, in which the issue of forming a new government in Jharkhand and Chief Ministerial candidate in the new dispersion were believed to have been discussed.

After the meeting, BJP's Observer for the Jharkhand Unit, Anant Kumar, said it was decided in the meeting that BJP would lead the government in the state.

He also informed that the BJP leaders would meet in Ranchi on Tuesday to choose the new Chief Minister.

"Tomorrow, we have called our legislature party meeting in Ranchi and in the legislature party meeting we will take the opinion of the legislators and then we will come back and apprise our national President, who has been authorised to take further decisions," said Kumar.

"We will also be announcing, who will be the Chief Ministerial candidate," he added.

BJP President Nitin Gadkari was present in the meeting today, along with a host of other senior leaders.

"Today, the Bharatiya Janata Party had its Parliamentary Board meeting, which was presided by its President Nitin Gadkari. Advani, Sushma Swaraj, and Arun Jaitley were present along with several other leaders. Day before yesterday, we had discussions with Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, regional (JMM) leader Hemant Soren and All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU) leader Sudesh Mahato," said Anant Kumar.

"In that meeting, both of them and both the parties agreed that for the remaining term of four and a half years in Jharkhand, the Bharatiya Janata Party will have it's Chief Minister and under the leadership of BJP the government will be formed," he added.

The BJP will head the new coalition government in Jharkhand to be formed with the support of 18 MLAs from the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), five MLAs from the All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU) and two MLAs from Janata Dal-United (JD-U).he JMM-led government in Jharkhand was reduced to a minority on April 28 after the BJP withdrew its support, as it was reportedly upset withy Soren for voting with the United Progressive Alliance (UPA) Government on the cut motion.

After the BJP's pullout, the ruling coalition has been reduced to 28 Members in a House of 81. (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...