CA drops David Hussey, Bracken and Clark from contracted players list

Posted By: Staff
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Sydney, Apr 7 (ANI): Cricket Australia (CA) has not renewed the contracts of Victorian batsman David Hussey and NSW pacers Nathan Bracken and Stuart Clark.

Victoria's Brad Hodge and South Australian wicketkeeper Graham Manou have also not been named in the 25-player contracted list for 2010-11 announced on Wednesday.

The new entrants are pacers Ryan Harris and Clint McKay, wicketkeeper-batsman Tim Paine, allrounder Steven Smith and batsman Adam Voges.

These five players started the 2009-10 period without CA contracts, but picked them up by the end after receiving sufficient upgrade points during that time, The Sydney Morning Herald reports.

Veteran fast bowler Brett Lee retained his contract, despite his recent injury and form struggles, while fellow speedster Shaun Tait is still on the list despite him being a virtual Twenty20 specialist.

The list was based on the players' form over the past 12 months and the likelihood of Australian selection in the coming year.

All contracted players will receive a minimum 200,000 dollars as retainer, plus match fees, tour fees and prize money for any on-field success.

"It is disappointing for Stuart Clark and Nathan Bracken who have not received contracts for 2010-11. Both Stuart and Nathan have fantastic records for Australia and not renewing their contracts was a very hard decision.

"The reality is that other bowlers have seized the opportunity over the last six months in both Test and limited overs cricket," said chairman of selectors, Andrew Hilditch.

"... David Hussey is also very unlucky not to receive a contract after a very successful domestic season and is part of our ICC World Twenty20 squad," he added.

Cricket Australia named the following list of contracted players for 2010-11: Doug Bollinger, Michael Clarke, Callum Ferguson, Brad Haddin, Ryan Harris, Nathan Hauritz, Ben Hilfenhaus, James Hopes, Phillip Hughes, Michael Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Simon Katich, Brett Lee, Shaun Marsh, Andrew McDonald, Clint McKay, Marcus North, Tim Paine, Ricky Ponting, Peter Siddle, Steven Smith, Shaun Tait, Adam Voges, Shane Watson, Cameron White. (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...