Women grab 86 wards in BBMP polls

Written by: Super Admin
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Apr 6: All the noise, debate and efforts towards women's empowerment seems to be paying off as Bangalore has elected 86 women into the Bruhat Bangalore Mahanagara Palike (BBMP).

This is a massive increment from the meagre 17 women corporators elected in the 2001 elections for the civic body which was then known as Bangalore City Corporation (BCC).

Some of the women corporators elected in the 2010 polls include KN Geetha Shashikumar (Atturu Ward), KV Yasodha (Chowdeshwari Ward), Lalitha (Thanisandra), Nandini K (Vidyaranyapura), and Sharadamma (Shettihalli).

What is more commendable is that fact that the 86 wins for the women-kind includes 19 unreserved wards along with 67 seats reserved for women.

The results of the elections held on Mar 28 was announced on Monday, Apr 5. In a surprise twist, the people handed over the power to the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...