BJP sweeps BBMP elections 2010

Written by: Super Admin
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Apr 5: The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) managed to secure a majority in the 198-member Bruhat Bangalore Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) edging out its political rival Congress from gaining power.

BJP, which took a early lead in the counting of votes on Monday, Apr 5, has already won 101 wards. Results from 18 wards is still awaited.

This is the first time that the BJP grabbed the power in Bangalore city corporation.

As per the inputs available, Congress has won 61 wards, JD-S claimed victory in 13, and independants have secured victories in five.

Speaking to reporters on the results, Chief Minister BS Yeddyurappa said, "We don't need a better example than this, that if you do good work, development work, people will bless you."

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...