Centre constitutes Union Territory Security Commission

Written by: Super Admin
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Mar 12 (ANI): The Union Home Ministry has constituted a Security Commission for Union Territories in pursuance of directions of the Supreme Court.

There are seven Union Territories in India-Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, Lakshadweep National Capital Territory of Delhi and Puducherry.

In Prakash Singh and Others Vs. Union of India and Ors case the Supreme Court had directed, inter alia, to constitute a State / Union Territory Security Commission.

According to the Home Ministry, the commission would be chaired by the Union Home Secretary.

The commission consists, Chief Secretaries of Delhi, Andaman and Nicobar, Puducherry, and the Delhi Police Commissioner as its members.

The commission also has representatives from other Union Territories who can be invited to the meetings as per the agenda.

The Union Government would nominate five independent members to the commission, with two years tenure.

The Home Ministry's Joint Secretary, (Union Territories) would be the convener of the commission.

The commission would frame broad policy guidelines for promoting efficient, effective, responsive and accountable policing, in accordance with the law; identify performance indicators to evaluate the functioning of the police service.

These indicators shall, inter alia, include-operational efficiency, public satisfaction, victim satisfaction vis-'-vis police investigation and response, accountability, optimum utilisation of resources, and observance of human rights standards.

The commission would also review and evaluate organisational performance of the police service in the state as a whole as well as district-wise against -- the annual plan, performance ndicators as identified and laid down, and resources available with and constraints of the police. (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...