Andhra Speaker rejects Cong, PRP MLAs' resignation

Posted By: Staff
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Hyderabad, Feb 26: The resignations of the three Telangana MLAs, two from the Congress and one Praja Rajyam Party were rejected by the Andhra Pradesh Assembly Speaker N Kiran Kumar Reddy on Thursday, Feb 25, night after they reportedly requested the speaker 'not accept' it.

The two Congress MLAs Damodar Reddy and Mutyam Reddy, accompanied by state Labour Minister R Venkat Reddy reportedly met Speaker Reddy and requested him to reject their resignation.

PRP legislator Maheshwar Reddy,too made a similar request to the Speaker which the speaker accordingly accepted.

Official sources who confirmed rejection of the resignations, remained tight-lipped on the Speaker's decision to reject it.

However, it has been reported that the Congress High command had taken a serious offence to the submission of resignation by the two MLAs and had directed them to withdrew it.

The two Congress MLAs along with the PRP legislator had met the AICC leaders in New Delhi, to voice their resentment over the over the Terms of Reference for the Srikrishna Committee, which was formed to look into the Telanagana issue.

The Speaker had earlier accepted the resignation of the TRS and the BJP MLAs, but he had kept his decision regarding the two Congress and one PRP legislators pending.

The resignation of the TDP MLA Chennamaneni Ramesh Babu, which was submitted in Dec 2009 too was accepted by the Speaker.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...