Elections for 14 Rajya Sabha seats to be held on March 26

Written by: Super Admin
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Feb 23 (ANI): The Election Commission has announced that elections to 14 Rajya Sabha seats, including those currently held by Union Ministers A K Antony, Anand Sharma and M S Gill, would be held on March 26.

While the term of Antony from Kerala and Sharma from Himachal Pradesh would expire on April 2, Gill's term as a Rajya Sabha member from Punjab would end on April 9.

Biennial elections to 13 seats from six states-five in Punjab, three in Kerala, two in Assam and one each in Himachal Pradesh, Nagaland and Tripura and by-election to fill a vacancy caused by the death of senior Samajwadi Party leader Janeshwar Mishra from Uttar Pradesh would be conducted on March 26.

The counting of votes will be done the same day.

The Rajya Sabha terms of Silvius Condpan and Syeda Anwara Taimur (from Assam), Abdul Wahab Peeve and A Vijayaraghavan (Kerala), Khekiho Zhimomi (Nagaland), Matilal Sarkar (Tripura) and Ashwani Kumar, Naresh Gujral, Dharam Pal and Varinder Singh (Punjab) would also come to an end.

As per the schedule, the notifications would be issued on March 9 and the last date for filling nominations would be March 16 followed by the scrutiny that will be conducted the same day.

The last date for withdrawal of nominations would be March 19. (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...