4 Indians nominated for Commonwealth Writers Prize

Posted By: Staff
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Feb 20: Four Indian authors, Keki N Daruwalla, Amit Chaudhuri, Rana Dasgupta and Chandrahas Choudhury, have been nominated for the 2010 Commonwealth Writers' Prize.

Daruwalla won a nomination for the book 'For Pepper and Christ', a historic tale of sailors voyaging during the time of Vasco Da Gama.

Published by Picador-India, 'The Immortals' which tells a story of two families in Mumbai during the eighties put Chaudhuri on the list.

While English-born Dasgupta has been nominated for the book 'Solo', Chandrahas Choudhury's book 'Arzee the Dwarf' won him a spot among the nominees. Both these books have been published by HarperCollins-India.

In 'Solo', one hundred-year-old Bulgarian man narrates an epic tale of the 20th and 21st centuries.

Chandrahas' debut novel, 'Azee the Dwarf'is the story of Mumbai told through the life and voice of a dwarf Arzee.

'Azee the Dwarf' will be computing against other debut novels such as 'The Hungry Ghosts' by Anne Berry (Britain), 'In Other Rooms, Other Wonders' by Daniyal Mueenuddin (Pakistan), 'Among Thieves' by Mez Packer (Britain), 'An Equal Stillness' by Francesca Kay (Britain) and 'Tail of the Blue Birds' by Nii Parkes (Britain).

Other best book nominations include 'The Beijing of Possibilities' by Jonathan Tel (Britian), 'Heartland' by Anthony Catwright (Britain) and 'Another Gulmohar Tree' by Aamer Hussain (Pakistan)

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...