Yusuf Pathan, Nayar recalled for ODI series against South Africa

Posted By: Staff
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kolkata, Feb 16(ANI): All-rounders Yusuf Pathan and Abhishek Nayar have been recalled to be part of the 15-man Indian team for the first two ODI against South Africa.

Apart from the duo, fast bowler Praveen Kumar and off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin have also been included in the squad.

The team was announced by Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) secretary N Srinivasan after a meeting of the selection committee in Kolkata.

Meanwhile, opening batsman Gautam Gambhir has been ruled out of the three-game series due to a groin injury, while middle-order batsman Yuvraj Singh has not recovered from the wrist injury that he sustained in Bangladesh.

Off-spinner Harbhajan Singh has reportedly ruled himself unavailable to attend his sister's wedding.

"Harbhajan Singh has declared himself not available for the first two ODIs due to personal reasons. Gautam Gambhir is not available for the ODI series due to groin a injury," a BCCI statement said.

India and South Africa will play the first ODI in Jaipur on February 21, and the second game will be played in Gwalior on February 24. The third game will be played in Ahmedabad on February 27.

Team India for the first two ODIs: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Virat Kohli, Dinesh Karthik, Suresh Raina, Yusuf Pathan, Ravindra Jadeja, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra, Sudeep Tyagi, Praveen Kumar, Abhishek Nayar, Amit Mishra and Ravichandran Ashwin. (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...