Centre finalises list of new governors

Written by: Super Admin
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Jan 16: After the meeting between UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi and Prime Minister Manmohan Singh on Friday, Jan 15, the Centre has reportedly finalised a list of five new Governors for various States.

Quoting sources, media reports suggest that National Security Adviser MK Narayanan is being appointed Governor of West Bengal while former Home Minister Shivraj Patil will be the governor of Punjab.

For the post of the governor of Chhattisgarh, former Defence Secretary Shekhar Dutt is said to have been chosen.

ESL Narasimhan, who is currently handling both Chattisgarh and Andhra Pradesh, will be the full-time governor of Andhra Pradesh.

Narasimhan was given the role of AP governor after the former governor ND Tiwari resigned on health reasons in the wake of a sex scandal.

Jharkhand governor K Sankaranarayan is reportedly being shifted to Maharashtra. And Senior Congress leader Mohsina Kidwai is expected to take over as the governor of Jharkhand.

Himachal Pradesh Governor Prabha Rau is being moved to Rajasthan. Congress leader from Gujarat and former Union minister Urmilaben Patel is going to be appointed as the governor of Himachal Pradesh.

Reports suggest that the list has been forwarded to the Rashtrapati Bhavan by the Home Ministry.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...