Button, Stewart named in New Year's honours list

Written by: Super Admin
Subscribe to Oneindia News

London, Dec.30 (ANI): Formula One champion Jenson Button and Ross Brawn, his team boss, will be honoured in the New Year's honours list.

Beth Tweddle, the double world champion gymnast, will receive an MBE, while Ian McGeechan, the coach of the British and Irish Lions rugby team, will be knighted despite the side being beaten in South Africa this year, The Telegraph reports.

Royal sources said last night that television personalities would largely be missing from the honours list.

Bruce Forsyth, the host of BBC's Strictly Come Dancing, and Simon Cowell, The X Factor judge, will be passed over despite speculation they would be honoured.

Fans have campaigned for several years for Forsyth to be recognised. Patrick Stewart, the Star Trek actor and Labour supporter, will be knighted.

A source said: "There is a surprising absence of really well-known stars on this year's list. It is more about sports people and those who have made a difference to their local communities."

It is understood that other knights will include Mark Jones, the director of the Victoria and Albert Museum.

Senior City figures and those involved with the banking industry would also be absent from the list amid ongoing public anger over bankers' conduct.

In recent years, politicians have become less involved in composing the bi-annual lists, which are now drawn up by Whitehall committees headed by independent experts. his is thought to explain the absence of many big names.

In the past, Downing Street added a handful of well-known figures to encourage public interest in the honours process. (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...