Oz 20-20 competition begins from Monday

Posted By: Staff
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Melbourne, Dec. 26 (ANI): Australia's star-studded domestic Twenty20 competition begins on Monday and big hitting West Indies captain Chris Gayle will lead the international charge.

Gayle has joined forces with Western Australia, while fellow international stars Shahid Afridi and Kieron Pollard (South Australia), Dwayne Bravo (Victoria), Daniel Vettori (Queensland), Sohail Tanvir (Victoria), Dwayne Smith (NSW) and Dimitri Mascarenhas (Tasmania) have also been lured for the four-week competition.

According to the Daily Telegraph, the vast prize money on offer via the Champions League in India means the Twenty20 format is no longer a hit-and-giggle business, as it was when the Big Bash started five summers ago.

The two finalists from this season's competition qualify for next year's 13.7 million dollar Champions League.

New South Wales pocketed a cool 2.8 million dollar by winning this year's edition. (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...