61 Andhra MLAs quit to protest Telangana creation

Written by: Super Admin
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Hyderabad, Dec 10: About 61 Congress, TDP and PRP MLAs from coastal Andhra and Rayalaseema regions resigned from their membership of the Assembly to protest against the decision of separate Telangana state.

The MLAs told reporters that more and more of their colleagues would join them in their protest.

According to Congress sources, many more MLAs from coastal Andhra and Rayalaseema have said they would resign ahead of the proposed resolution in the Assembly seeking creation of Telangana state.

Nearly 35 Congress MLAs, 15 TDP MLAs and MLCs and 11 PRP MLAs have offered to resign in protest against the decision to grant a separate Telangana.

Sources said that the MLAs have strongly decried the Congress high command's "unilateral decision" to initiate the process for bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh.

"This decision is very painful for us. Lakhs of people from other regions of the state have come to Hyderabad in search of livelihood. What would be their fate if the state is split," P Venkatramaya, a Congress legislator from Krishna district, said in the Assembly.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...