Cyclone Phyan broke 43-year record when it made landfall in India

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Washington, November 14 (ANI): Reports indicate that cyclone Phyan broke a 43 year record when it made landfall north of the city of Mumbai, India, during the evening hours on November 11.

NASA's Aqua satellite captured Phyan's landfall with one instrument, and a day later, another of Aqua's instruments show the storm's remnants raining Tibet as Phyan continues to dissipate.

Phyan is the first tropical cyclone to make an appearance in November in the Konkan region of India since 1996.

The India Meteorological Department confirmed that the last November appearance of a storm in that region was 43 years ago.

As Phyan was making landfall, NASA's Aqua satellite passed overhead, and the Moderate Imaging Spectroradiometer captured a stunning visual image of the storm on November 11 at 0845 UTC (3:45 ET).

On November 12 at 1:30 p.m. local time (2:30 a.m. ET), another instrument on Aqua called the Atmospheric Infrared Sounder (AIRS) captured an image of Phyan's remnant cold clouds and showers over Tibet.

The AIRS image showed that Phyan still had cold cloud tops as cold as -27F and was dumping moderate rainfall over Lake Manasarovar and Raksas Tal in Tibet.

The official final warning on Phyan was issued on November 11 at 1500 UTC (10 a.m. ET) from the U.S. Navy's Joint Typhoon Warning Center.

Phyan's center was located near 19.2 degrees North latitude and 73.6 East longitude, about 30 miles east-northeast of Mumbai, India.

Cyclone Phyan had maximum sustained winds near 40 knots (46 mph) and it was moving northeast near 16 mph. (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...