WB: TMC leads in 7 assembly seats

Posted By: Staff
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Nov 10: In a replay of the Lok Sabha polls, Trinamool Congress (TMC) has taken the lead in 7 out of 10 Assembly seats in West Bengal. Congress leads in two seats whereas Indepedent is leading in one seat.

While the Left is still to take lead in any of the assembly seats, Trinamool Congress seems to have geared up to give them a taste of the Lok Sabha polls held in May, 2009.

In East Belgachia seat, Sujit Basu of Trinamool Congress is leading by 4000 votes over his nearest CPI(M) rival Ramala Chakrabarty, widow of former Transport Minister.

In Alipur CPIM candidate is trailing behind TMC candidate Bobby Hakim by 10,000 votes, while the second round of counting in Egra showed former minister Prabodh Sinha of DSP leading the counting.

While A M Rappani of Congress is leading in Goalpokhar, Dibyendu Adhikari of Trinamool Congress is ahead in Contai seat.

The by-polls for 10 assembly seats were held in Kalchini (ST), Raiganj (SC), Sujapur, Goalpokhar, Bongaon, Contai South, Egra, Serampore, Alipore and Belgachia East.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...