Congress swipes all seats in bypolls in Kerala

Written by: Super Admin
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kochi (Kerala), Nov 10 (ANI): The Congress won all three-assembly seats namely Ernakulam, Alleppey and Kannur in the recent concluded Assembly by election.

MP A P Abdullakutty, an expelled candidate from CPI-M later joining Congress Party, emerged as the hero winning over a margin of over 12,000 votes over CPI-M's M V Jayarajan.

In Ernakulam constituency, Congress candidates Dominic Presentation defeated CPI-M's P N Sinulal in by over 8000 votes.

Meanwhile, A A Shukur of Congress in Alappuzha or Alleppey seat defeated G Krishaparasad of CPI by 4000 votes.

According to data from the State Electoral Office, Abdullakutty won 53,987 votes against 41,944 won by Jayarajan in Kannur constituency. BJP's Ranjith won 5,665 votes.

Presentation bagged 46,119 votes against 37,499 votes polled by Seenulal. Sobha Surendran of the BJP improved the party's tally in Ernakulam constituency over that of the 2006 Assembly elections by polling about 7,200 votes.

Shukoor won 42,774 votes against 38,029 votes polled by Krishnaprasad in Alappuzha. The BJP candidate K. Babu got 2,247 votes.

The candidate in Ernakulam assembly, Dominic Presentation thanked all the workers and supporters of UDF who worked his victory and promised that he would be to solve the issues related to the region By Juhan Samuel (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...