Five phase polling in Jharkhnad between Nov 27 to Dec 18

Posted By: Staff
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Oct 23 (ANI): The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Friday announced five-phase election schedule for the Jharkhand Assembly.

The poling will be held between November 27 to December 18.

At present the tribal dominated state is under president rule, after its assembly was suspended following the defeat of Chief Minister Sibu Soren in a bye-election.

Announcing the schedule here Chief Election Commissioner Navin Chawla said: "The Commission has prepared the schedule for holding general elections to the Jharkhand Assembly after taking into consideration all relevant aspects, like climatic conditions, academic schedules, festivals, prevailing law and order situation in the State.

"The Home Ministry has intimated that the President's Rule in the State cannot be extended further and requested to take appropriate action for conducting early elections in the State," he added.

With the announcement of elections the model code of conduct will come into force in the state with immediate effect.

Jharkhand Assembly has 81 seats with nine reserved for SCs and 28 seats are reserved for STs.

The notification for the election will be issued on November 3, 7, 13, 17, and 24 for the first, second, third, fourth and fifth phase respectively.

The nominations can be filed till November 10, 14, 20, 24 and December 1 for the first, second, third, fourth and Fifth phase respectively.

The scrutiny of nomination will be held on November 11, 16, 21, 25 and December 2 and the nominations can be withdrawn on November 13, 18, 23, 27 and December 4.

The polling will be held on November 27, December 2, 8, 12, 18, in the first, second, third, fourth and Fifth phase respectively.

In the first phase 30 constituencies will vote, in the second phase 15 constituencies will go to poll, in third phase seven seats will vote, and 14 and 15 constituencies will vote in the fourth and the fifth phase.

Counting will be held on December 23.

As Jharkhand is one of the Naxal Affected states the election Commission has decidecd to deploy Central Police Forces (CPF) and State Armed Police (SAP) drawn from other States.

Chawla said: "The CPF and SAP will be used for safeguarding polling stations and for providing security to electors and polling personnel. Besides, these forces will be used for securing the strong rooms where the EVMs are stored and for securing the counting centers." (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...