Congress claims enough support to form government in Haryana

Written by: Super Admin
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Oct 23 (ANI): The Congress Party on Friday claimed to have completed the number deficit by garnering 'unconditional support' of seven Independent Member of the Legislative Assembly (MLAs) in Haryana.

Haryana Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda's residence was chock-a-block with Congress leaders and workers who were greeting each other with the prospect of ruling the state for a second consecutive term.

The Congress got mere 40 seats in a House of 90 seats, 29 seats less than previous Assembly. However, by garnering the "magic number", Hooda can hope to retain his chief ministerial post for the second term.

"The Congress will form the government. We have completed the number deficit. We will have a legislature party meeting. The Party President has sought some time. The Independents have given their support to the Congress. There are seven independent MLAs," said Hooda.

About seven Independent candidates who have won assembly elections, held on October 13, are giving their full and unconditional support to the Congress, which will present its claim to form the government.

"We are supporting the Congress for development as I have won the election on this plank. People in my constituency have tested other parties. I want development to take place in my constituency and fulfill promises. Therefore, I have given my support to the Congress believing in its policies. All the independent candidates have lent their full unconditional support to the Congress," said Gopal Kanda, an independent candidate.

Meanwhile, Congress president Sonia Gandhi met AICC in-charge for Haryana Affairs Prithviraj Chavan and Ahmed Patel at 10 Janpath.

With this, Congress is ready to rule all three states, including Maharashtra and Arunachal Pradesh.

The Congress swept Arunachal Pradesh polls for the second straight term by securing 42 out of 60 seats. The ruling Congress-Nationalist Congress Party alliance won a third consecutive term in Maharashtra elections by winning 144 seats in the 288-member Maharashtra state assembly.(ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...