Congress retains Maharashtra, Arunachal, Haryana headed for hung assembly

Written by: Super Admin
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai / Chandigarh / Itanagar, Oct 22 (ANI): The Congress Party on Thursday emerged victorious in all assembly elections held in the three states of Maharashtra, Haryana and Arunachal Pradesh by adding salt to opposition wounds.

In Maharashtra, the Congress is retaining to power for a third consecutive term. It also swept Arunachal Pradesh, and managed to get a slender victory in Haryana.

There were scenes of joy in the Congress ranks, as it was the first ballot test after retaining power at the Centre in May this year.

The Congress, -Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), alliance is poised to form the next government in Maharashtra, winning 147 of the 288 constituencies.

The combine, which had won 140 seats in the last elections, may not have a problem in forming the government with the support of congress and NCP rebels and Independents.

The Republican Party of India and Raj Thackeray's Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) have indicated a readiness to give outside support to the combine.

Congress has bagged 83 seats, while the NCP has won 59. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) bagged 49 seats and its long-term ally, the Shiv Sena 46.

The MNS won 12 seats delivering blow to the Shiv Sena. The Independents managed to secure 39 seats.

The Haryana results came as a bit of surprise for the Congress which advanced polls by over seven months to cash in on its Lok Sabha performance in which it had won nine of the 10 seats. The party managed to win 40 of the 90 seats.The Congress has to now depend on the support of rebels and Independents who won 18 seats. The BJP won only four seats. The Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) won 32 seats.

In Arunachal Pradesh, the Congress won 33 of the 60seats up for the grabs.

The party had 34 seats in the outgoing assembly.

The BJP won a single seat, while Others bagged seven seats. Three candidates -- Chief Minister Dorjee Khandu, Tsewang Dhondup and Jambey Tashi were elected unopposed. (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...