Rosaiah sworn in as caretaker Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh

Written by: Super Admin
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Hyderabad, Sep 3 (ANI): Senior Congressman and Finance Minister in the Late Y.S.Rajasekhara Reddy's Government, Konnijiti Rosaiah on Thursday took oath as the state's caretaker Chief Minister.

Chief Justice of Andhra Pradesh High Court A.R. Dave administered oath of office and secrecy to Rosaiah at the Raj Bhavan.

Rosaiah later drove to the state secretariat to preside over a cabinet meeting, where four Ministers reportedly insisted appointment of Reddy's son Jagan Mohan, who is representing Cuddapah Constituency in the 15th Lok Sabha

Rosaiah was sworn after Reddy's chopper wreckage was discovered atop a hill about 40 nautical miles from Kurnoool town.

Along with YSR, four others- Dr P Subramanium, the Special Secretary to the Chief Minister; ASC Wesley, Chief Security Officer and two pilots Group Captain SK Bhatia and Captain MS Reddy- died in the crash.

Rosaiah was elected as Member of the Legislative Assembly in 1968, 1974 and 1980 and he became the Minister of cabinet for transportation and Roads and Buildings for the first time in 1979 under Marri Chenna Reddy.

Later he was Cabinet Minster under T. Anjaiah in 1980 as the Cabinet Minister for Transportation and Housing, under K.Vijaya Bhasker Reddy in 1982 as the cabinet minister for Home.

Under M.Chenna Reddy in 1989 he was the cabinet minister for Finance, Transportation and Electricity, under Nedurumalli Janardhana Reddy in 1990 as the cabinet minister for Finance, Health and Education and Electricity, under K.Vijaya Bhasker Reddy in 1992 as the cabinet minister for Finance, Health and Education and Electricity, and was Y. S. Reddy as the cabinet minister for Finance.

He was the P.C.C president from 1995 to 1997. Once he was elected as MP also from Narasarao Peta in 1998. He is a senior most congress leader in AP and he is seen as a non controversial leader.

Since College he has been actively involved with politics and has been with Congress party for over 50 years. (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...