PM's Economic Advisory Council reconstituted

Written by: Super Admin
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Aug.11 (ANI): The Prime Minister's Economic Advisory Council (EAC) was reconstituted on Tuesday with Dr. C. Rangarajan named as its Chairman.

Other members of the Council are Dr. Saumitra Chaudhuri, (Economic Adviser, ICRA), Dr. Govinda Rao (Director-General, National Institute of Public Finance and Policy),Dr Vijay Shankar Vyas (President, Asian Society of Agricultural Economists), and Suman K. Bery (Director-General, National Council of Applied Economic Research.)

All members of the Council will have the rank of Ministers of State.

Apart from advising on policy matters referred to the Council by the PM from time to time, the EAC also prepares a monthly report on economic developments at home and abroad for the Prime Minister.

It monitors economic trends on a regular basis and brings to the PM's attention important developments at home and abroad and suggests suitable policy responses. (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...