Bihar Govt. declares 26 districts as drought-hit

Written by: Super Admin
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Patna, Aug 10 (ANI): The Bihar Government has declared 26 districts in the State as drought-hit.

The decision was taken at the cabinet meeting today. It was also decided to suspend recovery of loans in drought-affected areas.

The districts declared drought-hit include Siwan, Bhojpur, Gaya, Nalanda, Jehanabad, Rohtas and Tehmur.

On Sunday, an all party meeting was held where it was decided to call on Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh and submit a joint memorandum.

Bihar has recorded a 43 per cent rainfall deficit so far this monsoon season.

Earlier, the Maharashtra Government had declared drought-like situation in 129 tehsils in the State.

Similarly, the Jharkhand Government had declared the entire State as drought-hit due to inadequate rainfall that it has received in the last two months.

Twenty-seven more districts in Uttar Pradesh were also declared drought-hit. The total number of draught-hit districts in Uttar Pradesh has reached 47. (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...