Information Commissions constituted in 27 states: Chavan in RS

Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Aug. 6 (ANI): The Government on Thursday said that all the 27 States, with the exception of Jammu and Kashmir, in the country have set up their respective Information Commissions under the Right to Information (RTI) Act.

Minister of state for Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions Prithviraj Chavan in a written reply told the Rajya Sabha, stated: "All the 27 states to which the Right to Information Act, 2005 applies, have constituted the Information Commissions. Union Territories are covered by the Central Information Commission."

Chavan informed that the Union Government has initiated a centrally sponsored scheme on Strengthening, Capacity Building and Awareness Generation for Effective Implementation of the RTI Act by providing funds to State Information Commissions for IT work and propagation of Right to Information, imparting training to various stakeholders and generating awareness through media etc. (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...