Strauss insists he caught Hughes cleanly

Subscribe to Oneindia News

London, July 21 (ANI): England captain Andrew Strauss has insisted that his catch that saw off opener Phillip Hughes in Australia's second innings was legitimate, even though TV replays cast some doubt.

"This is the problem with technology as it is. I felt 100 per cent I caught the ball," the England skipper said.

"I've got a couple of bruised fingers where I felt the ball bounced off but on the slow motion it looks like it hit the ground," The Sun quoted him, as saying.

"It's a tricky one. But I maintain I caught that ball," Strauss added.

Meanwhile, Match Referee Jeff Crowe reiterated the official procedures for disputed catches following Australia's loss in the second Test.

Australia contested the difference in approach made by the on-field umpires for catches in the second innings of both teams during England's 115-run victory at Lord's.

Crowe said according to clause 3.2.3 in the Test match playing conditions, the umpire shall be entitled to refer an appeal for a caught decision to the third umpire if both he and his colleague at square-leg are unable to decide whether a catch was taken cleanly.

"In the first instance, when Nathan Hauritz was the fielder, the on-field umpires consulted and neither was able to decide if the catch was taken cleanly so they referred the decision to the third umpire," said Crowe.

"However, in the second instance, when Andrew Strauss was the fielder, the square-leg umpire was confident the catch was taken cleanly and so did not refer it to the third umpire," he added. (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...