EC announces bye-election to four seats of UP assembly

Posted By: Staff
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Lucknow, July 17 (ANI): The Election Commission of India has announced the bye poll schedule for four constituencies in Uttar Pradesh assembly.

According to sources, bye-elections will be held for Moradabad (West), Malihabad in Lucknow city limit, Bidhuna, and Morna constituencies.

These seats fell vacant following the resignation of the Bharatiya Janata Party legislator from Moradabad (west) Rajiv Channa, the Rashtriya Lok Dal member from Morana Qadir Rana, Gauri Shanker of the Bahujan Samaj Party from Malihabad and Dhani Ram Verma member of the Samjwadi Party from Bidhuna.

In all, 13 seats are vacant in the Uttar Pradesh assembly for various reasons.

According to Election Commission sources the notification for these four seats will be issued on July 22, and July 29 will be the last date for filing nominations.

Scrutiny of nomination papers will be done on July 30 and August 1 will be the last date for withdrawal of nomination.

Voting will take place on August 18, while counting will be held on August 21, Commission sources said. (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...