MNS splits Sena, BJP votes, lets Cong win

Written by: Super Admin
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, May 17: Even though Raj Thackeray's Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) performed a poor show in the polls, the MNS loyalist reportedly split Shiv Sena and its ally BJP's votes leading to their failure in the state.

The overbearing force of Congress subdued Senior BJP leaders, including Ram Naik and Kirit Somayya, and Gajanan Kirtikar of Shiv Sena in Maharastra.

Congress candidates Milind Deora from Mumbai South, Eknath Gaikwad from Mumbai South Central, Priya Dutt from Mumbai North Central, Gurudas Kamat from Mumbai North West, and Sanjay Nirupam from Mumbai North all won along with the NCP candidate Sanjay Patil from Mumbai North East.

Admitting that Sena underestimated the MNS, Senior Sena leaders said, "In several constituencies, their candidates gave a tough fight and we had a feeling that they would cut into our votes, but our leaders felt otherwise."

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...